Past Winners

Past winners of the IHC Art Awards

Past winners

The IHC Art Awards started in 2004 to showcase the talents of people with intellectual disabilities in New Zealand. A big event night and auction is held for the finalists with cash prizes for 1st, 2nd and 3rd placing announced on the night.


1st Jo-Anne Tapiki, Lower Hutt, Holiday
2nd Rebecca Donovan, Dunedin, Fashion Models
3rd Karin Clayden, Wellington,  Maori Designs


1st Chris Wills, Waiuku, with A love letter to New Zealand
2nd Dharmesh Chand ,Otahuhu, A train station for me and my friends
3rd Sheryl McIlroy, Nelson, with Best friends
People’s Choice, Keitha Taylor, Gisborne, with Baby and Mother Giraffe


1st Phillip Sisam, Clive, with Postman Pat after Van Gogh
2nd Andrew Martin, Rangiora, with Sasha
3rd Amanda Brennan, Auckland, with Hospital Ship
People’s Choice, Jayne Bruce, Masterton, with Circles in Rainbow Land


1st Jordan Weng Kam Chow, Auckland, with Donkey and Brachiosaurus
2nd Andrea Nowell-Usticke, Clive, with Deer and Lady
3rd Melania Smith, with Civet Box
People’s Choice Award, Jordan Weng Kam Chow, Auckland


1st Vincent Van Schalkwyk, Te Awamutu, with Life Stories
2nd Christopher Wright, Oamaru, with Old Oamaru Hospital
3rd equal Dianne Cadman, Hamilton, with Do Not Disturb Me While I am in My Room
3rd equal Peter Smith, Hamilton, Big Red


1st Stacey Hughes, Lower Hutt, with Untitled Portrait
2nd Paul Sedgwick, Hamilton, with Auckland Phonebook Goes To Milford
3rd= Denise Dennehy, Wellington, with Blue and White Pills Going Up the Right Way
3rd= Jamie McCullough, Wellington, with Ace


1st Dianne Hockridge, Kaikoura, with Recipes (And Lots of Them)
2nd Paul Griffith, Hamilton, with Untitled
3rd= Katie McMillan, Auckland, with Family Hei Tiki
3rd= Vicki Dooley, Lower Hutt, with Houses and Churches
Vicki also won the Telecom People’s Choice Award


1st Cherie Melsopp, Hamilton, with Green Spots and Pen
2nd Jonathan Bowler, Christchurch, with A Busy Day
3rd= Jason Beswick, Christchurch, with Face Collage
3rd= Matthew Bishopp, Tauranga, with St Paul’s
Telecom People’s Choice Award Joanna Lynskey, Auckland, with Ginger the Garden Cat


1st Chris Tilley, Nelson, with The Barn
2nd Hone Paekau, Hamilton, with Highout and Blackout
3rd= Sasha Rae, Christchurch, with Two Figures
3rd= Anne Pamment, Hamilton, with Tudor History


1st Paul Sedgwick, Hamilton, with town Planning
2nd Peggy Leung, Auckland, with Beautiful girl
3rd= Christopher Wright, Oamaru, with Waitake Girls, Waitake Boys
3rd= Cherie Mellsopp, Hamilton, with Untitled Packaging


1st Mark Warner, Auckland, with Untitled
2nd Peter Fraser, Auckland, with Farm House
3rd= Ruby Davey, Hamilton, with Cartoon Workshop
3rd= Amy Szostak, Wellington, with Untitled


1st Quintin Barrett, Taranaki, with Tractor
2nd Kenny Edge, Hamilton, with Untitled
3rd= Tony Green, Auckland, with Step to Heaven
3rd= Sharon Anderson, Invercargill, with Collage of Abstract Art


1st Peter Freeman, Wellsford, with Bell Boys
2nd George, Hill, Wanganui, with Bottom Teeth
3rd= Lisa McConnochie, Wellington, with Untitled
3rd= Leanne Sowman, Christchurch, with Bears